Men's Cross Country Coach and Six Student-Athletes Presented USCAA Awards

Men's Cross Country Coach and Six Student-Athletes Presented USCAA Awards

Lakeland, FL – On top of winning the USCAA Championship on November 6, 2015 several members of the team and head coach Mike Johnson were recognized by the USCAA.  Berea walked away with four 1st team All-Americans, one 2nd team All-American, one member of the USCAA All-Academic team and one USCAA Coach of the Year.

At the banquet the day before the race the USCAA named head coach Mike Johnson the USCAA National Cross Country Coach of the Year.  Coach Johnson is in his 35th season as the head coach at Berea and is a member of the KHSAA Track and Field and Cross Country Coaching Hall of Fame.  This season proved to be one of the best seasons Berea College Cross Country has ever had.  The Mountaineers won five of their seven races, put up a school record team time (1:28:42) and won the USCAA National Championship placing four runners in the top five. 

Sophomore Nathan Smith was named to the USCAA All-Academic team. Nathan was chosen from a pool of players who had a 3.5 cumulative GPA, minimum of 24 credit hours completed and whose play impacted their respective teams.

 Five more members of the Mountaineer squad would earn honors following the USCAA National Championship race.  The USCAA names the 1st through 7th runners in the race 1st team All-American and the 8th through 14th runners receive 2nd team All-American.  Emmauell Kemmei was the first Mountaineer across the line earning him the title of National Champion and 1st team All-American.  Jeremy Johnson, Logan McKenzie and Isaiah Dodson would follow closely finishing 2nd and 3rd and 5th and earning them 1st team All-American honors as well.  Dylan Watkins would finish 14th overall to earn 2nd team All-American honors.  

The links to the USCAA articles can be found below: